Quarterback Trap Information

Super Bowl Week is supposed to be fun, right? One mafia boss sees it as a way to make a killing...

Port City is hosting the New York Jets and the Dallas Cowboys in the first Super Bowl in its new billion-dollar stadium. Private investigator Chuck McCrary''s old friend from high-school football, Bob Martinez, is starting quarterback for the Jets.

One week before the game, Martinez''s supermodel fiancée, Graciela, disappears from the Super Bowl headquarters hotel. Was she kidnapped?

Martinez hires Chuck to find her, but he won''t let Chuck involve the police. That same day the odds on the Super Bowl game change dramatically when someone bets a hundred million dollars on the Cowboys to beat the point spread.

Chuck discovers that Graciela has a twisted secret that threatens her life, regardless of the outcome of the game. Was she really kidnapped, or did she run away from her own shameful secret? Martinez also has a dangerous secret that threatens to destroy his multi-million-dollar career in the NFL.

To save Graciela''s life, mob boss Vicente Vidali demands that Martinez shave the point spread on the Super Bowl, so Vidali can collect on his hundred-million-dollar gamble.

Chuck''s search for Graciela takes him from the dangerous streets of a Port City ghetto to the waterfront high-rises and private island mansions of billionaires, movie stars, and crime bosses. Chuck must assault the mob boss''s mega-yacht, risking his own life in a breathtaking invasion to bring her to safety.

When Vidali counter-attacks, Chuck must take the fight to the organized crime boss''s fortress headquarters, a mansion hidden on an island paradise.

Interview with the Author

Q: What makes the Carlos McCrary series exceptional?

A: I consider myself a serious mystery and thriller fan. My novels reflect the kind of books I like to read. My top picks are usually private detective novels, any of the thousands of thrillers and mysteries best sellers, and, of course, books featuring classic heroes like Spenser (he with no first name) and Jack Reacher (who has a first name but doesn''t use it much). Basically, I like stories with a kick-butt, take-no-prisoners attitude and fast-paced action. And maybe a little sex.

The Carlos McCrary books are a great mix of these genres. The series focuses on the mystery and thriller / private investigator genre overall, with a couple of vigilante justice thrillers thrown in, some political corruption thrillers, and some organized crime and mafia involvement to keep things interesting!

Overall, I designed the series to keep you up late a night. Once you start a book, it''s hard to quit.

Q: What order should I read the books in?

A: You can read the books in any order. All the stories tie up nicely by the time you finish. If you want to read them in order, I''d suggest the following sequence:

- I''m No Hero (a prequel short story that introduces Carlos McCrary as a Green Beret in Afghanistan in the military rescue that earned him the Bronze Star medal)
- Six Murders Too Many
- Double Fake, Double Murder
- Quarterback Trap
- Dangerous Friends
- Day of the Tiger
- McCrary''s Justice

Q: So, why should readers try these books?

A: Because the Carlos McCrary series is a fast, fun, thrill-ride that takes no prisoners! Ultimately, readers who enjoy lightning-fast pacing with a plot that twists and turns all the way to the end will get a kick out of this series.

And thanks for reading!

Carlos McCrary Series eBook Categories:
Mystery Series
Crime Thrillers
Private Investigator Series
Private Detective Novels
Thrillers and Mysteries
Thriller Detective Series

What our member says...